Meringues

Behold! I am back with a Pavlova!

Yes, I’m back with a new post.

Seems slightly odd after months of silence (I’ve mostly been on my instagram – www.instagram.com/mondaybakeoff) , but I’ve decided to revive my blog, and this time I’m starting with a Pavlova!

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 11.25.35 AM.png

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg whites
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 1.5 tsp corn starch
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar (I found that lemon juice also works, but not as well as the vinegar. The acid is essentially there to help stabilise the meringue)
  • 500ml double cream
  • Fresh fruits to decorate

 

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 150C/Gas mark 2
  2. On parchment paper, outline two 8-inch circles with a pencil
  3. Whisk your egg whites in a grease-free metal bowl until they form soft peaks. Turn your bowl over your head and if it doesn’t fall – you’re good!
  4. Continue to whisk the egg whites, this time adding the sugar one tablespoon at a time until you get stiff glossy peaks
  5. Fold in your corn starch and vinegar
  6. Spoon the meringue onto the two circles
  7. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, and then set aside to cool
  8. While your pavlovas are cooling, whisk your cream until stiff peaks form
  9. Plop the cream onto your pavlovas and decorate with your favourite fruits!

 

Meringues have always been a favourite of mine to bake, partly because it only needs eggs and sugar (and therefore I don’t have to go to the grocery store to get butter or flour…) and mostly because my housemates LOVE meringues. It’s a constant on the living room table!

Hope you enjoy the recipe and have a freshly-baked monday!

Izzy

7 thoughts on “Behold! I am back with a Pavlova!

  1. I love it – haven’t had a pavlova in ages but now I can’t wait for fresh fruit to make one 🙂
    Thanks for bringing this beauty along to Fiesta Friday!
    Ginger x

    Like

Leave a Reply

